Nevada has some state specific laws and regulations for health insurance, although many of its rules are universal across the country. For example, it is a good idea for people who do not have access to group plans to apply for individual health insurance. The down side is that there is limited guaranteed access to this individual coverage in Nevada, as well as many other states.
Factors such as your health status and the kind of coverage you want may determine whether you are accepted or denied. Pre-existing conditions, of course, and certain kinds of coverage such as mental health or dental may be rejected. Perhaps this is due to the threat of higher and more frequent coverage if you have a condition that will require ongoing treatment (sometimes customers applying for specific coverage are wanting that coverage because it is an area of health for which they know they need treatment). This can seem unfair, as it is not anyone’s fault what specific health problems they may have going into a health insurance plan. Remember that if you are denied individual coverage, you may be qualified for continuous coverage from an old group plan or conversion policies from an old plan.
There are some regulations that Nevada places on insurance providers for insurance applicants. Usually health insurance companies are free to turn you down or charge more for health status or other factors. This is just the poor reality. However, if you are accepted for individual coverage, plans offering family coverage must automatically cover children born or adopted after your plan begins. Sometimes the company will require the new dependent be declared within 31 days to be covered after 31 days.
Usually dependent coverage is terminated at a certain age or upon the conclusion of one’s schooling. The exceptions to this rule include children dependents that are mentally disabled or otherwise physically disabled. There are restrictions for this exception, however, including the dependent’s inability to pay for self insurance. The proof of disability and inability to pay coverage must be submitted to insurer within 31 days of the termination of usual coverage for the dependent.
If you meet certain federal requirements, you are guaranteed to receive health insurance with two choices. You can choose between basic or standardized health benefit plans, and cannot be turned down because of your health. You may also be offered coverage that is not standardized, but you may be charged more for this additional option.